The Seven Sacraments

Jesus touches our lives through the sacraments. Our celebrations of the sacraments
are signs of Jesus’ presence in our lives and a means for receiving his grace. The Church
celebrates seven sacraments, which are divided into three categories.

Sacraments of Initiation

These sacraments lay the foundation of every Christian life.


In Baptism we receive new life in Christ. Baptism takes away original sin and gives us a new birth
in the Holy Spirit. Its sign is the pouring of water. Please call the office to make arrangements
for our Baptismal Preparation Program, several weeks in advance of the baby’s birth.

Planning a Baptism please fill out the Holy Innocents Baptismal Form and then call the office to schedule a telephone conference with one of priests.


Confirmation seals our life of faith in Jesus by the receiving the Holy Spirit. Its signs are the laying on of
hands on a person’s head, most often by a bishop, and the anointing with oil. Like Baptism, Confirmation is
received only once. If you are an adult who is interested in receiving the Sacrament of Confirmation, please
contact the office for information about our Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA) program.
Our youth receive this sacrament through our 8th grade Religious Education program.


The Eucharist is the Real Presence of Christ in his Body and Blood.
The Eucharist nourishes our life of faith.
Its signs are the bread and wine we receive – the Body and Blood of Christ.
Go to the Worship Schedule on the home page of this website for the schedule.

Sacraments of Healing

These sacraments celebrate the healing power of Jesus.


Through Reconciliation we receive God’s forgiveness. Forgiveness requires being sorry for our sins. In Reconciliation we
receive Jesus’ healing grace through absolution by the priest. The signs of this sacrament are our confession of sins and
the words of absolution. Go to The Worship Schedule on the home page of this website for the schedule for
Reconciliation or other times by request by calling the office for an appointment.
Click here for an examination of conscience.

Anointing of the Sick

This sacrament unites a sick person’s suffering with that of Jesus and brings forgiveness of sins. Oil, a symbol of strength,
is the sign of this sacrament. A person is anointed with oil and receives the laying on of hands from a priest.
As scheduled, or anytime a priest is called. Please notify us when a family member enters the hospital.

Sacraments at the Service of Communion

These sacraments help members serve the community.


In Matrimony a baptized man and woman are united with each other as a sign of the unity between Jesus and his Church.
Matrimony requires the consent of the couple, as expressed in the marriage promises. The couple and their wedding rings
are the signs of this sacrament. By appointment at least six months in advance. A Pre-Cana program is required.

Holy Orders

In Holy Orders men are ordained as priests, deacons, or bishops. Priests serve as spiritual leaders of their communities,
and deacons serve to remind us of our baptismal call to help others. Bishops carry on the teachings of the apostles.
The signs of this sacrament are the laying on of hands and anointing with oil by the bishop.

If you have inquiries regarding vocations to Holy Orders or religious life the Friars at Holy Innocents are happy to help
or you can click on these links for more information:

Archdiocese of New York vocation click here

Vocation to the Dominican Order (Order of Preachers) click here


To arrange a funeral at Holy Innocents, please contact your local funeral home.
To select the various liturgy options available for a Funeral Mass  Click Here.